St. Mildred, TENTERDEN
St Mildred’s is a stunning medieval church whose imposing tower dominates the town's skyline. Most of the building dates back to the thirteenth and fourteenth centuries.
A major project is underway to transform St Mildred's to meet the needs of the twenty-first century, and ensure that our historic church continues to remain at the heart of the community, with the community at its heart. See more about Transformation here.
With huge enthusiasm and energy, The Friends of St Mildred's (see below) help to make sure that the stonework is kept in good condition.
The church is open from at least 9am until 4pm every day of the week.
St Michael and All Angels,
St Michael and All Angels is of Victorian construction. It was consecrated in 1863. The spire makes it a conspicuous landmark. The interior of the church has been much improved with the recent addition of kitchen and toilet facilities.
St John the Baptist, SMALLHYTHE
St John the Baptist is a lovely Tudor church. It was built in 1516-17 to replace the chapel which stood on the same site and which was destroyed by fire in 1514. In the last two years a lot of work on the church has taken place. The lighting has been improved, kitchen and toilet facilities have been added, and the interior of the church has been completely redecorated.
The church is open from Wednesday to Sunday, from 11.00a.m. until 5.00p.m., from the 1st March until 31st October.
Why not visit our churches and share our delight?
The Friends of St Mildred’s
The Friends of St Mildred’s exists to preserve St Mildred’s Church for future generations. If you value our wonderful church, and would like to help the Friends, then click here.